FAQ Search
Memberlist Usergroups
Profile
  Forum Statistics Register
 Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
Moonpod Homepage Starscape Information Mr. Robot Information Free Game Downloads Starscape Highscore Table
can't save
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Discussion Pod Forum Index -> Starscape Support View previous topic :: View next topic  
 Author
Message
OvermindDL1



Joined: 29 Mar 2004
Posts: 138



PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unless you specify (right click->Run As...) to run as another user, or its a service and not an application, then it runs as you with all your permissions. If a service it has to be loaded as an admin (admin password required if you don't have access), etc...

Remember, never run an admin account as you main used account, if you need to run something as admin then right click->Run As... it...
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Weeble
Starscape Jedi
Starscape Jedi


Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Posts: 1143
Location: Glasgow, Scotland



PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Except for the fact that Microsoft themselves have made it clear that they don't expect anyone to run a Windows machine other than as admin. For example, if the firewall blocks an application while you're not logged in as admin, if it bothers to tell you at all, it just tells you to go get an admin, rather than giving you the option of entering admin credentials and enabling it there. Then you've got a good chance of crashing whatever game it was while you try to switch to an admin account, at which point you discover that it won't let you allow that program through the firewall without giving you any reason at all.

I have tried doing it properly and not running as admin day-to-day, and it doesn't sodding work. Neither does the stupid firewall, which I really wanted to like. If you don't run as admin your computer is crippled, and frankly I'm not at present willing to make that sacrifice on my home computers for some vague improvement in security.

Grumble grumble.

PS - Try playing the original Halo demo on a multi-user computer where users don't have admin rights. It creates configuration files in a public folder that only have permissions for the current user, so nobody else can play it because it chokes on writing the config files. Nice example to developers there, Microsoft.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
OvermindDL1



Joined: 29 Mar 2004
Posts: 138



PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heh, does not suprise me. Something odd, in the DX SDK they include instructions on properly formatting game data so it operates properly on a multi-user (non-admin) system so each user has their own data and such.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Fost
Pod Team
Pod Team


Joined: 14 Oct 2002
Posts: 3734



PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This type of security is supposed to be much improved in vista. They are essentially looking at having one account to install things, and another more secure account for day to day work. Something I've tried setting up in XP but had little luck with.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Weeble
Starscape Jedi
Starscape Jedi


Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Posts: 1143
Location: Glasgow, Scotland



PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, they had better make easy to SU into admin whenever you want to do stuff like that. I know at present it sometimes detects you might be running an installer and asks you for credentials, but if it doesn't it's a right pain to log out or even just switch users in order to install something or change a setting or whatever. Particularly because you can't copy and paste or drag and drop items from your non-admin desktop.

It would also be nice if they gave you some kind of visual indication that a window belongs to a process run as admin, or indeed by any user other than the one currently logged in. Can Windows processes change owner while they're running? It would be cool to have a box on the titlebar that had the name of the owner, and clicking on it would give you a username+password panel to give the program different priveleges.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
OvermindDL1



Joined: 29 Mar 2004
Posts: 138



PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heh, you just described what you want that already exists in that DesktopBSD, windows change to the theme of the admin when they are su'd up and all. Asks whenever su'ing is needed as well. Hope they put out another beta soon, turning out well.

Then of course Vista, will be upgrading... as long as it doesn't have some kind of payment thing, or want to connect to the net or something...
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Discussion Pod Forum Index -> Starscape Support All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group